– Writing, Writers & The Written Word –

I am speaking only for myself mind you for I can honestly only do that. I have not been empowered by some supreme writing god to intervene on the behalf of others so any comments made here are strictly my own and relate entirely to myself. If, perhaps, others out there should feel the same way or are experiencing the same things, well, that is totally coincidental I assure you.

One of the first things I published on my very first blog, as-a-matter-of-fact, the very first thing I published was an article titled “Opinions and People”. The first line, if I recall, was “Opinions are like a–holes. Everyone has one and most of them stink.”

What do you think? Any truth to that statement? I’m still thinking that there is a modicum of truth there. It may not apply all the time but the majority of the time, people say things just to hear themselves talk.

I’m as guilty as the next guy when it comes to that. On occasions, I will arbitrarily blurt out something I know not to be true just to keep a good conversation from going dry for the simple lack of stimulus. Come on, anyone who isn’t just a casual observer has done that once or twice (maybe more, truth be known). You would have to have been as disinterested in the conversation as a knot in a piece of wood not to have done it at some point.

So, where is all this leading. Why talk about writing, writers and the written word and, and, the opinions they (we) express? Because they (we) express our opinions not only vocally but in print as well. We don’t just voice our opinions we put them down so people can pass them on. So people can go back and refer to them. Or, so they can go back and point fingers at them and say, “Look at what that idiot just wrote.”

Why is it that we (as writers in our own right) feel our opinions are so much better than everyone else? Because, that is what we are saying, isn’t it? Isn’t that why we feel compelled to put it down on paper? To place our thoughts in print and publish them on the internet for all to see (or ignore, as the case may be).

What is it about our way of thinking or our way of looking at a certain issue or personal bug-a-boo that makes our opinion worth your time to read or listen to? Frankly, I have no idea! But you do and that’s what keeps me and others like me going. Something in what we are saying rings true with you and it keeps you coming back.

I don’t care whether you agree with me or not. As-a-matter-of-fact, it’s much more interesting for me when I get a dissenting view from a reader. In spite of what I have just said, I like to discuss things and, should you show me the light and prove my viewpoint wrong, I will freely admit it. But, let me warn you, I won’t tolerate middle-of-the-roadisms. Don’t just criticize. Have a counter point to offer. And, if it happens to deal with religion, I don’t accept, “You just have to take it on faith.” as an answer to anything.

So, there are the ground rules and I really look forward to your comments. Challenge your intellect. Hell, challenge mine. Challenge your beliefs, if you dare. It can only make them stronger.

I’ve taken up enough of your time for now.

Have a great day and a wonderful New Year!

Ed B.

2 responses to “– Writing, Writers & The Written Word –

  1. Hey Ed,remember me?well I hope you do πŸ™‚

    Anyway I like what you said in the post about writiers thinking their opinios are more important then others.I dont know about others but when I though of my book I wanted to show it to the world because it had part of me in it,it might not make sense πŸ™‚ but I believee so,just like an artist showes his feeling through the colors he chooses or by the way he puts them on the canves.I mean, art is the projection of a person,not everyone can do it or want to,but some can only show themselves through their art,like me πŸ™‚
    So I would disagree to “writers think their opinion matters more” when it comes to my case,because I think my opinion is different then others,not more improtant πŸ™‚

    Hope to hear from you soon,Tali

    • I think we are actually saying the same thing only in a different way. I don’t believe I said that my (or other writers) opinions were more important just worth listening to, for the lack of a better way to put it. If that were not so, we wouldn’t even bother to write them in the first place. You wouldn’t tell your story or voice your opinion if you didn’t think that your story or opinion didn’t matter, now would you? What would be the point, right?

      What I was trying to do with that last post was to stir up some individual thinking by others. To get some kind of discourse going on a subject we all seem to share and interest in. It worked with you, didn’t it? πŸ˜‰

      Which time zone do you live in? No specifics. I just want to know for time purposes that’s all. East coast, mid-west, west coast? I, personally, am on the west coast. Portland, Oregon, to be exact. It’s raining but then, it’s Oregon. We love it.

      Ed B.

Leave a Reply

