– THE DO’s and DON’T’s of PRIDE –

Webster’s New World Dictionary says;

pride (prid) n. 1a) an unduly high opinion of oneself  b) haughtiness, arrogance  2. dignity and self-respect  3. satisfaction in something done, owned, etc.  4. a person or thing in which pride is taken — pride oneself on — to be proud of.    pride’ful adj.   pride’ful-ly adv.

Now, according to the Bible, the MacArthur Study Bible to be exact, well, to put it succinctly, if you have any pride at all, you’re going to Hell in a hand basket. No if’s, and’s or butt’s about it. Go straight to Hell, do not pass go and definitely, do not collect $200.00. You can’t spend it where you’re going.

So, that pretty much covers the “don’t’s”. Don’t do anything you might be tempted to take pride in. Don’t build anything remarkable because someone might like it and tell you so. Then what are you going to do? Say thank-you and beam with pride or tear it down so that won’t happen again.

Don’t have any children. God forbid one of them happens to cure cancer. What do you do or say then? “Oh posh, no big deal. It was bound to happen sooner or later.”

Uh huh, right. That could happen.

I find it very hard to believe that the Lord doesn’t want a person to have some well placed pride. I freely admit I have pride and I believe in God.

I have pride in my daughters. They are my pride and joy. What’s wrong with that. If I am to be condemned to Hell for loving my daughters and having pride in them at the same time, well, so-be-it.

There are a few things in my life that I’m proud of like my service to my country. I’m proud of every man and woman who has served or is serving their country and especially those who have died doing so. Send me straight to Hell because I refuse not to be proud of them.

I take great pride in my country. The greatest country on this planet as far as I’m concerned and blessed by the hand of God whether the Supreme Court agrees with me or not.

I take pride in the fact that we are a nation that has compassion for the world at large and often help others, including our enemies, even before we help ourselves. If that makes me a bad person and worthy of condemnation well, condemn away!

The fact that some pride is misplaced and signifies the worst in people in stead of the best, is no reason to cancel out pride altogether. Pride can be the instrument that keeps a worthy cause on track. Pride could be the one thing in battle that just might turn the tide to a favorable conclusion. Pride is something, as I have said before, that is earned and not given. It cannot be bought or sold. It cannot be declared or enacted. It is either there or it is not.

Well placed pride is in the heart of mankind. It’s not egoism or haughtiness. It’s not arrogance or an over inflated opinion of oneself that I refer to. It is, however, dignity, self-respect and the satisfaction in a job well done that I refer to. And then there is pride in ones family. How bad can that be? There’s nothing on Gods green earth wrong with that, that’s what.

That’s MY opinion and you’re welcome to it.

Have a nice day!

Ed B.

Leave a Reply

