– TO E-MAIL or NOT TO E-MAIL –

Mr. Shakespeare never had the problem of whether to or not to e-mail someone but I’m sure there were equally perplexing situations that he had to face. As for me, I only e-mail my kids, a few friends and, perhaps my ex-wife now and again, but rarely do I get replies. What am I to deduce from that?

I guess the simplest reason is maybe, just maybe, I e-mail too often and they’re tired of hearing from me. Perhaps what I have to say is boring and not worthy of a reply. No, that couldn’t possibly be it. How foolish of me. Maybe they don’t like me. Well friends I can understand but my kids?? Maybe I just expect too much from others but then, what am I too expect? What are we to expect?

I know, from experience, that it isn’t always possible to reply right-a-way but, it is possible to reply sometime. I admit that I have left replies linger for a couple of days and some, that are harder to reply to, have lingered even longer. I have, in the end, replied to all if not most of them eventually. I figure if the person who wrote to me took time out of their day to write, the least I can do is take a little time to tell them I got it and thank-you.

I don’t mean to criticize those who simply read and delete, read and delete but, I guess I am and, if the shoe fits, well….. Cinderella, you asked for it.

A reply or acknowledgment of some kind is only common courtesy. It’s like saying good morning to someone and having them reply with a ‘hi’ or, even worse, a grunt. Or having someone bump into you on the street or crowded hall and not say anything at all. Just walk on like nothing happened. Maybe you hold the door open for someone and they just walk through without a thank-you or even a smile like you were their personal doorman or something. It’s not just discourteous, it’s down right rude.

Okay, I’m getting a little too wound up here along with getting a bit off track. I do that sometimes. I’m getting older and my mind wanders. All I really want to say is that there is enough time in everyone’s day to be nice, to be courteous, to consider the feelings of others even if you don’t care about how your feelings are treated and I can’t believe there is anyone out there who doesn’t feel something.

Just consider that feeling thing the next-time you receive an e-mail from someone you know. Friend, family, acquaintance, it really doesn’t matter now does it? And especially if you happen to plow into someone by accident. Take the time to say you’re sorry, are you okay, excuse me, even if it wasn’t your fault say it anyway. It’s being courteous. Try it, you just might like it!

As for the e-mail thing, it’s so easy.  Hit Reply …..  “Got your message. Thanx. More later. ”  signed YOU.  ….. Hit Send.

How hard was that?

That’s MY opinion and you are welcome to it.

Have a very nice day!

Leave a Reply

