– When I Close My Eyes –

“Star light, star bright,

First star I see tonight,

I wish I may, I wish I might,

Have this wish I wish tonight.”

It’s an old rhyme, an old prayer but it says everything we ever needed to say without going into specifics. Whatever was in our hearts and minds at that moment was translated into that wish and carried off into another realm where wishes either went to die or be granted.

Have you ever wondered who it is that either grants your wish or denies it? Is it a fairy who mans the wish desk? Who sorts through the millions of wishes made every day and determines which ones to grant and which ones to throw out. Maybe it’s one of God’s angels, or God himself, who makes the determination, if you consider your wish a prayer.

I guess we’ll never really know for sure. All I know is that all wishes are not granted but all prayers are. Whatever your religious belief may be, whatever your thoughts on religion in general are, whenever you  pray, you get an answer.

Think, if you will, about a song written by Garth Brooks in which there is a line that goes “Thank God for unanswered prayers.” Well, I’ll have to disagree with Mr. Brooks on that one. Whatever prayer he was referring to was answered. He may not have liked the answer but, it was answered never-the-less.

When I close my eyes and think my thoughts and wish my wishes or say a prayer, I’m seeing what I want to see the way I want to see it. That may not always be in my best interest, although I may think it is. When we wish these wishes and say these prayers, we are placing the outcome into someone elses hands. To make a decision in our behalf, for better or worse and trusting the outcome to them, whoever they may be. Whether they be a fairy, God or just our imagination. In making the wish, saying the prayer, we are acknowledging the fact that we need help of some kind and, we are willing to look toward the unknown to get it.

When I close my eyes, or sit in a dark room, or walk a deserted beach, my imagination takes hold and anything is possible. Reality takes a short vacation and I am free to wander in other universes where dreams and wishes and prayers abound. All I have to do is reach out and grab one but, holding on to it is much harder for dreams and wishes and prayers are fleeting. Here today and, in some instances, gone today as well.

When I close my eyes, everything is possible but only when I close my eyes. And, if I might add, wandering through this world with your eyes closed is not a very good idea.

Have a really nice day!

Leave a Reply

